Committee on Road Transport

18 DECEMBER 2024, 14H30 – 16H30 (BRUSSELS TIME), ONLINE

DRAFT PARTIAL SUMMARY REPORT

Application from 1 January 2025 of the obligation for vehicles currently equipped with an analogue or digital non-smart tachograph operating in Member States other than their Member State of registration to be fitted with a smart tachograph version 2 (Article 3(4) of Regulation (EU) No 165/2014).

Following a discussion in the Committee, a consensus was reached among Member States for a period of 2 months of *educational learning period* on the retrofit obligation provision for vehicles operating in Member States other than their Member State of registration and currently equipped with an analogue or digital non-smart tachograph, to be equipped with a smart tachograph version 2 by 31 December 2024, until 28 February 2025.

This means that until 28 February 2025, enforcement would be focused on continuing to raise awareness of this obligation, instead of applying a sanction or penalty at the roadside, for those operators which, for various reasons, may not yet have managed to undertake the tachograph retrofit.

MOVE invited Member States to share with MOVE any publication of national administrative implementation of this approach as well as the way operators would be informed (for instance publication on a relevant website).

ANNEX I – Participants

AUSTRIA	Federal Ministry for Climate Action, the Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology
BELGIUM	Federal Public Service Mobility and Transport Departement Mobiliteit en Openbare Werken (MOW) Service Public de Wallonie (SPW)
BULGARIA	Road Transport Administration
CROATIA	Ministry of the Sea, Transport, and Infrastructure
CYPRUS	Absent
CZECHIA	Ministry of Transport
DENMARK	Ministry of Transport
ESTONIA	Ministry of Climate
FINLAND	Transport and Communications Agency (TRAFICOM) Ministry of Transport and Communication
FRANCE	Ministry of Ecological Transition
GERMANY	Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport
GREECE	Ministry of Infrastructure and Transport
HUNGARY	Ministry of Construction and Transport
IRELAND	Department of Transport Road Safety Authority
ITALY	Ministry of Infrastructure and Transport
LATVIA	Road Transport Administration
LITHUANIA	Ministry of Transport and Communications
LUXEMBOURG	Ministry of Mobility and Public Works
MALTA	Ministry for Transport and Infrastructure
NETHERLANDS	Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management Human Environment and Transport Inspectorate
POLAND	Ministry of Infrastructure General Inspectorate of Road Transport
PORTUGAL	Institute for Mobility and Transport (IMT)
ROMANIA	Absent
SLOVAKIA	Ministry of Transport
SLOVENIA	Ministry of Infrastructure
SPAIN	Ministry of Transport, Mobility and Urban planning
SWEDEN	Transport Agency
European Commission	DG MOVE.
Observers	 European Labour Authority. Representatives of Norway and Switzerland. Representatives of CORTE, ECR, ETF, IRU, ROADPOL, UETR.